Essential Oils Instead of Thyroid Meds

When I mention that I use essential oils instead of thyroid medication, most people are amazed by this and then quickly ask me how I did it. Which oils, where did I apply them, etc. So I thought I would give you some details.

I was on thyroid medication for about 2 years. I was on Levothyroxine, Synthroid (briefly), Bio-Identicals & Armour. None of them worked. With each new medication I felt better – but it only lasted for a few weeks. Then my symptoms would come back and sometimes get worse. Most of the time, my doctors would just tell me to increase my dose. So I did. And for 2 years I continued feeling terrible. I lived in a heavy haze. I disliked being on the medications and tried to stop the meds, but always ended up non-functional. I needed some support for my body, but I knew there had to be another option. This was not how I would spend the next 80 years. So I made some changes.

Last October I stopped my meds cold turkey (not recommended but I was desperate) & started using Peppermint, Lemongrass and a blend called Endoflex. I layered them topically on my thyroid (base of throat area) & adrenals (mid-back) 3x/day. Within a week I felt better and was able to workout again. I kept up this regimen until December & was able to lose some weight and get some energy back. In December, I added Frankincense to the mix, but decreased my usage to 2x/daily. This decrease happened mostly because of lifestyle changes more than by intention. However, I did not have any issues come up with the decrease in frequency. I added Frankincense because although I was feeling better, my thyroid antibodies were still app 6,000 (goal is 40 or under depending on what type of physician you work with). Needless to say, I was on a mission to get those antibodies down!

Fast forward a few months & my antibodies were still very high but I was still feeling better than when on the medications. I decided to alter my routine a bit again. Instead of applying the oils to just my thyroid & adrenals, I started using the reflexology points on my feet. In the morning I would apply the oils to my thyroid & adrenals and in the evenings I would apply the oils to the bottom of my feet, making sure to hit the thyroid & parathyroid points. (For those who do not know – you absorb oils quickly through the bottom of your feet. If applied all over the bottom of the foot, the oil can be detected in every cell of the body within 20 minutes).

I stayed consistent with my usage of the oils for about 7-8 months total. I only had the Frankincense in my routine for about 4 months. At that point I found that I could play with it a little. I used Endoflex almost every day, but I cut back on the other oils. Some days I applied all 4 oils while other days I only used 1 or 2. It really depended on how I was feeling and I followed my intuition.

I have now been using the oils for almost 10 months & I still have no need for thyroid meds. I continue to follow my intuition with the oils and use whichever ones appeal to me the most, depending on the day. Endoflex is still one I use almost every day. I continue to apply them to my feet in the evenings & thyroid in the mornings. I have gotten my antibodies down (though still not perfect, but close!) and my TSH has decreased (yay!) while my T3 to T4 conversion improved (double yay!). My doctor was astounded that my body did this without thyroid medication. I was deemed “one of those rare people.” I don’t think Im rare though. I think I just gave my body a chance to heal itself. I took out the toxic drugs and supported it with a more natural option & now I am well on my way to saying “I used to have Hashimoto’s.” Thank you essential oils!

If you have any questions about my regimen with the oils, feel free to ask! Hopefully this gives some insight as to how you can use the oils for thyroid support.

If you want more information on the oils or a FREE chart that compares essential oils to OTC drugs, check out my website:

http://www.discoveryourhealthyself.com/essential-oils

 

About Kehau Martinez

Kehau Martinez is a Certified Holistic Health Coach and environmental advocate. Following her heart, she decided to become a health coach to empower other women who struggle with thyroid and adrenal imbalances. Today, she supports women who have thyroid imbalances to lose weight, increase energy and thrive. Kehau received her Health Coaching training at Integrative Nutrition in New York City and is certified by the American Association of Drugless Practitioners. She holds a B.A. in Communications from Chapman University as well as certifications in Animal Communication, Reiki, Spinning® and the Access Consciousness Bars®. Additionally, she is certified in Raindrop Technique® and uses genuine, therapeutic-grade essential oils to perform this application of oils which detoxifies the body, empowering it to restore balance and promotes spinal health. Kehau leads workshops, teaches classes and offers one-on-one and group health coaching sessions as well as individual sessions for Raindrop Technique® or The Bars®.
This entry was posted in Essential Oils, Thyroid and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

93 Responses to Essential Oils Instead of Thyroid Meds

  1. Gail Johnson says:

    I do not have a thyroid anymore…would this work for me?

    • I think it really depends on your body. No doubt that the oils would be great for you & your body would use them to support the endocrine system….but whether or not you could get off of the medications completely would have to be tested (with the help of your doctor) to see. Everyone is so different & each body has different needs. You may be able to reduce medications by using the oils even if you cant stop the meds completely, but again, it just depends on what else is going on with your body.

      Thats probably not the answer youre looking for 🙂 It would be nice to have a concrete answer but if it were me, I would definitely give it a try!

    • Hi again, I was talking with another health coach and she has had clients who didnt have a thyroid and they had great success with the oils! They were eventually able to get off of their meds. While it needs to be noted that dietary changes were also made (which is necessary for all thyroid conditions, in my opinion) I think this is great info! I thought I would pass it on to you 🙂

  2. tannis says:

    Can I use the same oils for goiter and borderline hypothyroid?

    • Hi,
      According to my Essential Oils Desk Reference, the oils you would want to use are:
      Singles: Ledum, Myrtle, Peppermint
      Blends: Endoflex, Brain Power, Clarity
      Those are some options (you dont necessarily need all 6).
      Hope that helps!

  3. Magdalena says:

    Hi
    Thank you for your post, I felt kind of relief reading it. I’m happy for you getting back your thyroid to normal function without hormones.
    I’m on Armour-90, I have hashi, and want to to get pregnant soon, I’m 9 months on gluten free & autoimmune diet, I feel only a little bit better, I want to detoxify my body from toxins and I want to clean detoxify my guts,
    Can you recommend what oils I should use ?
    Can I continue endoflex & peppermint oil while I’m pregnant ?

    • Hi there,
      Im glad to hear you are already making dietary changes! That is a huge step!

      Gut health is huge! If you want to focus on gut health, diet is a big part of that. You may want to check out Donna Gates and http://www.BodyEcology.com Shes a great resource for that stuff. I used essential oils in combination with diet changes for my gut. I used rosemary and peppermint – just 1 drop each day in a 30oz glass bottle. Dont use plastic with the oils, always glass. I used those to help with candida balancing, as well as, gut restoration. I did that for about 6 weeks after I had targeted the candida with the combo of lemon (3-4 drops), melaleuca (2-3 drops) & oregano (1-2 drops) daily for about 2 weeks. I found it to be very effective.

      Have you ever been tested for heavy metals? That may be something to consider for your body to rebalance itself. I had high levels of Lead & used Coriander oil to detoxify that. Its a great oil for heavy metal detoxes (you need tons of water throughout this process!). You can also add some citrus oil like lemon or lime to help assist the flushing of the toxins while using Coriander. I just used 1 drop daily for about 1 month. I did this a few months after I had completed the gut/candida regimen I mentioned above. That way my body had a chance to relax from so much detox.

      Some other good ideas for detoxification are saunas, castor packs on the liver, drinking hot lemon water in the morning before food and dry body brushing to help prevent stagnant lymph. You want to look for daily ways to detoxify since we are constantly taking in toxins from our environment. Of course, essential oils are great for detoxing too.

      Here is some info from my Essential Oils Desk Reference, 5th Edition, regarding pregnancy and oils:

      “During pregnancy most oils are safe and bring peace and contentment. Gentle Baby, Valor, White Angelica, RutaVaLa, Magnify Your Purpose, Joy, Harmony, Highest Potential, Gathering, Di-gize and Dream Catcher are just a few that are enjoyable for both mother and baby throughout the pregnancy. Oils such as basil, clary sage, fennel, hyssop, nutmeg, rosemary, sage, tansy and tarragon should be used carefully with a good understanding as to their benefits and how to use them. Some essential oils such as fennel and clary sage may help accelerate labor once it has begun. A few drops of vetiver and valerian mixed with V-6 Vegetable Oil Complex may help reduce the pain of contractions when applied to the lower back.”

      Keep in mind that Endoflex has spearmint, sage, geranium, myrtle, German Chamomile & nutmeg in it. It would probably be one that you should consult with a knowledgeable doctor about so that you can make sure your hormone levels stay where they should be. I have heard that peppermint can reduce milk supply if you are pregnant or nursing, however there is nothing that I can find in my reference book that mentions this. Everyones body is different, so it may reduce milk for some while not affecting others.

      I do know that you wouldnt want to use peppermint on your baby until theyre 18+ months. So that would be something to keep in mind for when you do get pregnant 🙂

      Geranium & German Chamomile are oils that are in Endoflex that are also listed as being good to use during pregnancy. So you could use those for thyroid support during pregnancy. My desk reference also lists myrrh as a supportive oil for the thyroid, and it is also listed as great for pregnancy.

      So you have some options 🙂

      Hope all of that helps! I apologize for the delay in responding to your comment.

      Oh and just in case this can help:
      Labor Recipe (from my Desk Reference)
      -4 drops Helichrysum
      -2 drops fennel
      -2 drops peppermint
      -5 drops ylang ylang
      -2 drops clary sage

      *Only use once labor has begun.
      Massage 2-4 drops of this blend on your reproductive Vita Flex points on the sides of the ankles. Massage 2-4 drops of this blend on lower stomach and lower back.

      Let me know if I can help you further 🙂

      Take care

      • Pamela says:

        Sage reduces milk supply – it’s one of the two things (cabbage is the other) they recommend to use when you’re trying to stop nursing. When I was weaning my first, I used to drink cups of fresh sage tea to dry myself up. It worked really quickly, so I would tell people to avoid while nursing. I’d also like to add, that it’s related to salvia (which gets you high), and I had to cut back on the tea, because it was getting me too amped up and I was shaking from overstimulation.

        I’d imagine the astringent qualities of peppermint mint dry milk as well, but not to the same extent. It’s good for settling morning sickness, along w citrus oils.

        Fenugreek is an herb that encourages milk production, if she’s looking for something to help her in that dept.

      • terry says:

        can i mix up my own Endoflex?i have all the essential oils,just need recipe!! i have no thyroid and my dr. just keeps going more and less thyroid medicine.i stay so tired and run down!!help please!!!!!!!!!

      • Im sure you can! Im not sure what the ratio is…Young Living doesn’t give that out as far as I know. I would probably give it a shot and see how it goes 🙂 Up to you though!

  4. Tiffany says:

    My mom is on some thyroid meds and is wanting to use some oils. Is it safe to use endoflex and sclarEssence while on the meds? She’s been using endoflex for about a month along with her meds and feels worse now. She wants to try sclarEssence but doesn’t know if she can take it with her meds?

  5. Jason says:

    Thanks for sharing your experience. I am just starting to try my hypothyroid issues so I haven’t started taking any meds yet and would like to keep it that way. I’m new to the world of essential oils and very thankful to have stumbled across your blog. Would you mind giving some feedback on how you applied the oils? (amount, applicator, order) I’ve seen another blog where they put peppermint, lemongrass, clove and coconut in a roller tube. Would that be just as effective?

    • Hi Jason,

      I avoided meds for a few years before I had to get on them. That was before I started using the oils for thyroid support. I hope you can avoid them completely!

      You can do a roller tube if you want to. A good quality coconut or olive oil is a good way to dilute the oils. I personally just used the oils straight. I would carefully put the oil on my finger and rub it on (my thyroid, adrenals, and my thyroid point on the bottom of the foot). It was probably about a drop. I did this with each oil and when I started this routine I did it 3x/day. I was able to back off to 2x/day and thats what I still do. I didnt do it in any particular order. It just depended what I grabbed first. As long as I used all of the oils, order wasnt an issue.

      Usually, they say to dilute lemongrass since it is a very strong oil. Everyone is different though. I have found I can use it without diluting it as long as I dont go overboard and use too much. See what works for you.

      Are you doing anything to support your adrenals? Theyre closely tied with the thyroid, so dont ignore them! 🙂 Nutmeg is a popular option for adrenals and one that Ive found to be quite helpful with adrenal fatigue.

      Hope that helps!

  6. Kimberly says:

    I am subclinical hypothyroid. I have been on armour and the smallest dose possible to bring my TSH down from 14 to 2. This happened within the first 3 months. But after about a year I was still having symptoms and felt like I was going Hyperthyroid as the armour was making my T4 go up. She took me off the armour and I hit a sweet spot a couple of weeks afterwards and now I am going back down the same road. I just had labs done and have not found out the results yet. I also just got into essential oils and decided to purchase myrtle and nutmeg to help with my thyroid and adrenals. I also got aroma life to possibly help with low blood pressure. I don’t think I have had symptoms of this, but my blood pressure has been at 98/66 the past few visits and I would like to make sure I am keeping my cardiovascular strong (I’m thin and have always been a runner/cyclist) I guess my question is would these essential oils work for what I am trying to do? It doesn’t seem like I need a lot of help to keep me on track. In fact, we were just getting over a stomach bug and were using peppermint. Two mornings in a row my temp was in the correct range, so it seems that peppermint was giving support. So hard to monitor and I’m so new to EO.

    • Hi,
      Myrtle and Nutmeg are very popular choices for thyroid and adrenals – two of my favorites! Another one that I dont go without is Endoflex. You may consider adding that to your current regimen.

      It sounds to me like you would greatly benefit from Dr Leanne Deardeuffs book “Taming the Dragon Within.” She discusses specific ways to use the oils and which oils to use, along with case studies. That book is all hormone-related.

      I have used Peppermint for thyroid support as well. It is a great oil! The thing to remember with oils is that the body will use them in many ways to benefit as much as possible. So even if you are using it to overcome a cold, your body may also use it for thyroid support. That’s the beauty of them 🙂 Being naturally occurring the body knows what to do with the oils & how to use them to achieve homeostasis. Use what you have, be dont be afraid to play with it. Everyone is different and may need slightly different support in their body.

      Do you have an Essential Oil Desk Reference book? There is a link to it on the sidebar of my blog. Its the best tool for learning all about oils & how to use them. It is definitely something I recommend for anyone who wants to learn more about oils no matter how familiar they are with essential oils.

      Lastly, consider your lifestyle choices. There may be some tweaks you need to make in your diet or lifestyle to help your body get balanced. Have you looked into that much?

      • Kimberly says:

        Yes I do have a reference book and I have moved into EO carefully. I am slightly nervous about them because I got a massive headache one evening after layering some essential oils though I didn’t feel it was too much. Our family is also grain-free and I have had a history of arthritis. We just recently did an adrenal test and that came back in good condition except for one part that had to do with my progesterone and cortisol that was slightly depressed. I was using nutmeg for a while but stopped thinking that my adrenals were ok, however i am wondering if the support is still needed. Thanks for the information. I still feel so fatigued and I rarely feel rested in the morning. I also get head pressure and wonder if I have some hypoglycemic issues as well. My holistic doc has me on a 1 pill / 2 pill alternating days with Armour because she felt I was between the doses. I feel better on the 2 pill days. I have a feeling when I am tested again that I will need to do the 2 pills every day. My tongue gets the ridges on the 1 pill days and my throat is hard to swallow. I have 3 kids and would love to feel back to normal.

      • Thats good you have a desk reference! I still learn lots from that book every time I open it.

        Oils can detoxify the body, so when we use them we may experience detox symptoms. Headaches, stomachaches, feeling like youre catching the flu, etc. Detox symptoms can come from oils, or when you do a cleanse/detox, etc. So the headache doesnt really surprise me.

        Adrenal issues can take a long time to resolve and if youre still feeling poorly, I would do anything you can to support the adrenals. They are so important! 🙂

  7. April says:

    Was this for hypo or hyper? Would it work for both. I have nodules growing on my thyroid and I have extreme sensitivity to heat, I can’t tolerate it AT ALL… Makes summer misery for me and my girls…

    • Hi,
      It was for hypo. I have Hashimotos which is the autoimmune form of hypothyroid. The body uses essential oils to reach balance, so many of the oils mentioned for hypo could also help for hyper. There are also some that are specific to hyper that you could use. So it sort of depends on what you choose to use.
      🙂

  8. Jennifer says:

    What about someone who does not have a thyroid? I had mine surgically removed due to Grave’s and take synthroid. Just got endoflex and I am curious as to how to introduce it into my regimen. I can’ imagine ever being off of synthroid. I have zero thyroid hormone without it. Thoughts?

    • Hi,
      My thoughts are that since the body uses oils so efficiently in so many ways that the Endoflex can help your body support your endocrine system even if you stay on the Synthroid. It may also provide support in areas that the Synthroid cannot. I know people who have stayed on their thyroid meds, by personal choice, and used Endoflex in addition to it. Just watch to see if your Synthroid dosage needs to be changed over time. Even if you cannot get off of it completely, reducing the amount would still be nice 🙂 I have heard of people who do not have thyroids and managed to get off of their meds but they used more than just Endoflex. They used multiple oils and the supplement Thyromin which is also made by Young Living.
      Good luck! Let me know how it goes!

      PS – dont forget to support your adrenals during all of this!

  9. Courtney says:

    My sister has Hashimotos. She is super overwhelmed and just feels terrible all the time. I don’t want to stress her out more by overwhelming her but I just started with EO and think she would benefit. I want to send her the oils to try. If she is hesitant to sop her meds (I think she is just on synthroid) can she keep taking them and try the oils? Or would she have to wean off the meds first? I want to have all the info before I pass along to her so I don’t add to her stress. Thanks!

    • Hi,
      She can definitely just add the oils to her current regimen! I know many people who do that and are not ready to get off of their medication. They feel better when using the oils in addition to their meds. Just have her stay aware in case she gets hyper and needs to talk with her doc about reducing her dosage.
      Hope she feels better soon!

  10. Ali.E says:

    hi – are you just using the undiluted oils out of their little concentrated jars, or mixing them with something thanks so much for this great article!

    • Hi,

      I don’t personally dilute them. You can though! I actually hardly ever dilute any oils that I use but that’s just my personal preference. Many people choose to dilute and they still have great success with the oils. Its common for “hot” oils to be diluted like clove or lemongrass. If you find your skin gets irritated you may want to dilute if you use the hot ones. It’s also important to dilute when using them on children since they’re skin is usually more sensitive.
      A good quality coconut or olive oil is good to use. Or Young Livings V-6 is great too!

      Thanks!

  11. Pingback: Can You Use Essential Oils Instead Of Thyroid Medication?

  12. april says:

    Hi! I tried to apply to my thyroid area, and got really hoarse so had to stop. Would you be willing to share what your numbers got down (or up!) to? How much of a difference did they actually make? Was it dramatic?
    Thank you,
    April

    • Hi,

      Interesting that you got hoarse. How long were you using the oils?

      My changes in symptoms were definitely dramatic! My numbers also improved quite a bit. I dont have my old labs here with me now so I dont have exact numbers but my TSH went down and my T4 to T3 conversion improved. My T4, T3 & RT3 are now in normal ranges and my dr is happy with them. My TSH and TPOab change depending on stress levels. Ive watched them go up and down depending on what is going on in my life. Right now, my TSH is high at 4.4 but Id prefer it to be back in the 1-2 range. My TPOab went from 6,000 down to 250 but that also came with lots of adrenal support. My TPOab has always been a challenge for me and I have yet to get that under 35 which is the ideal level.

      Hopefully that answers your question. I found the changes to be incredible bc I was able to get off of my meds and then feel normal again. It took a while for my labs to improve but my symptoms were almost immediate – I felt better within a week.

      • janienoll says:

        i applied Endoflex to my thyroid area for the first time today & had a very odd tingling sensation. I have also been slightly hoarse throughout the day. Have you experienced any physical side effects such as these? Is there a possibility I applied too much?

        Thank you!

      • Thats interesting! Hmm, I did not experience that. I only apply as much is needed to cover the thyroid area (which is pretty small). Its probably less than a full drop that I put on – I just dab it on to my fingertip and apply over the area. Its up to you, definitely listen to your body, but perhaps try it again for a few days and see how it goes. Play with it…see if every other day works better for you, etc.

  13. Great blog! Do you have any helpful hints for aspiring writers?
    I’m hoping to start my own site soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you propose starting with a free platform like WordPress or go
    for a paid option? There are so many options out there that
    I’m totally confused .. Any recommendations?
    Cheers!

    • Thank you!

      I would say its best to start on a free platform, especially until you get the feel of things. You can always switch over later and start paying for something. WordPress has a paid option as well but I find that the free one works just fine for me. It’s easy to navigate. A tip for wordpress: watch the tutorial videos if youre feeling stuck.

      Advice for a writer? Just start writing. Dont worry about getting your site perfect before you start. Content is superior to aesthetics and the best thing a writer can do is write. So go get started! 🙂

  14. Melissa Cucchiara says:

    Hi Kehau,

    I was just given your article by a friend my mom met, it came at the perfect time. My 10 yr old daughter and I were diagnosed with Hashimoto’s last year around the same time. They originally thought I might have lupus, then some other things, but eventually drew my thyroid levels. I have had to have my dosage of Armour increased because I only feel better for about 2 months, then my extreme fatigue and brain fog, along with memory loss start hitting me hard. I know I am tired because I am running around my three kids everywhere, but I am so tired, I have been getting emotionally drained and feeling down. I am going to go to the health store today and get Endoflex,along with Myrtle for fatigue, does that sound like a good start? I am only on 40mg of Armour now, and am meeting with my Endocrinologist next week, but they don’t say too much about helping with my symptoms. My daughter is doing ok now, she is getting her bloodwork done every 6 months like me. They say as long as our t3 t4 are ok, then we are good for now., and since she is healthy and growing normally, she is fine for now?? not too happy with all of this, worried for her in the future. Any other suggestions for us?

    Thank you,
    Melissa
    ajnms04@yahoo.com

    • Hi Melissa,
      I went through a similar testing protocol. I was also tested for lupus, among other things. I can totally relate to that tired feeling. Have you made any dietary changes or addressed your adrenals? You may want to find an additional doctor, someone more integrative. I went through the same thing: try a new med, feel better for a few weeks/months, then feel like crap again. They just continued to raise my dose; that was their only answer. That’s why I eventually took matters into my own hands. You will definitely want to look into dietary changes for both of you – research has been showing that leaky gut is one of the main root causes for almost all autoimmune diseases. Gut health needs to become a priority.

      As far as the oils go, you likely won’t find Endoflex at the health food store. I want to caution you about the grade of essential oils you use. Health food stores usually do not sell therapeutic-grade oils. This means they are basically perfumes & wil not have the desired effect and can even have toxic ingredients (yes, even if the bottle says 100% pure – the laws regulating perfumes in the US are lacking). Therapeutic-grade oils are so pure that they are edible. You can read more about them on my website: http://www.discoveryourhealthyself.com/essential-oils
      You have to be picky about the processing they go through.

      With your daughter, please make sure you keep an eye on her TSH and her antibodies too. When I was first diagnosed (age 16) my levels were just barely off. Once they started to shift, it happened quickly. I attribute a lot to diet/lifestyle but just make sure you are looking at everything with her. I agree that T3 and T4 are important, but RT3, TSH and TPOab are equally as important to check out. If your doctor disagrees, find someone who will work with you. I found that endocrinologists were never interested in anything but prescriptions, which wasnt enough for me. I would really emphasize clean eating with her and try to keep her lifestyle well-balanced with low stress. She is younger than I was when diagnosed but when I left for college & then started a new job my diet got horrible & my sleep, stress and overall lifestyle changed so much that my body had no choice. Teach her how to balance fun and health so that she doesnt end up doing the same thing. It can be tough through the rebellious phases (I totally rebelled from the healthy food I was raised on) but do your best.

      Take care!

      • Melissa Cucchiara says:

        Thank you Kehau,

        We were taught a couple years ago how to eat healthy and clean, we do a pretty great job, my kids make fun of me because I am so strict with our diet and lifestyle. We are also seeing an Integrative Medicine Doctor at the hospital I work at. She put me on Selenium, special mushroom vitamin, fish oil, and probiotics. I do feel better taking those but I am still very tired and worn out.
        I could not find Endoflex today at the vitamin shop, I will search on Amazon, they usually have a good variety of nutritional items. I will also check out your info on the oils. What is the first thing you’d start me with? the Endoflex? What about for fatigue? Also can my daughter use these as well? My Naturopathic Doctor did say that I was going to be on Armour for the rest of my life, because with my auto-immune system attacking my thyroid, I will just never have enough that my organs need so I must keep taking a hormone replacement. So confusing… We also were told we have goiters, so that’s probably why my body is attacking my thyroid right?
        Sorry so many questions.

        Melissa

      • Haha, well Im happy to hear you eat clean. When the kids make fun of it, youre sure to be doing a good job. 🙂 Have you looked specifically at a gut healthy diet though? Im sure you are doing aspects of it, but it would be a good idea to familiarize yourself with that to make sure youre addressing everything you can. http://www.BodyEcology.com is a great resource for gut health. Donna Gates is awesome! Probiotics, fermented foods and drinks, going GF, possibly DF, etc. Clean eating is huge, but gut healing is absolutely neccessary for people with autoimmune situations. Leaky gut is an extremely common cause of Hashimotos. The body can also mistaken gluten for thyroid cells bc they are very similar so going GF has become one of the major dietary choices for Hashimotos patients. Many doctors recognize this, many more do not, sadly.

        Sound like the supplements she put you on are a step in the right direction. Have you read Dr Izabella Wentz’ book on Hashimotos? http://www.thyroidpharmacist.com
        Shes an AMAZING resource for Hashis. I would highly recommend getting her book and scouring her website. Shes all about identifying the root cause instead of managing symptoms. It will likely save you a lot of time & money in the learning phase of Hashis.

        Yes, I think most doctors believe that once you start thyroid medication you will be on it forever. Obviously, I have found that to be untrue & there are some (like Izabella Wentz) who believe you can get off of the medication. The key is to stop the attack, then you dont need the medication. Hashis happens to attack the thyroid, much like crohns attacks the small intestine. So in many cases the thyroid is actually functioning fine until its attacked. Reducing inflammation & stopping the attack will allow the thyroid to recover (recovery depends on how long youve had the disease, etc).

        You can order the oils through my website, or if you have questions on that, email me and I can help you. Endoflex is a Young Living blend so you wont find another brand that makes it, though you will find other people you can order it through. Who you choose to order it through is up to you 🙂 Im here if you want my help though.

        Enddoflex is a blend specifically made to support the endocrine system so it would be a good starting point for you/your daughter. And yes, she could use it too. People use oils on newborns so she is def old enough.

        Questions are fine – send them on over!

      • Melissa Cucchiara says:

        Thank you so much for your time and concerns and also addressing my concerns. Everyone wants to feel their very best and should, in a natural way would be the best too, right? I will check out the articles and books, I can’t wait to read them. I started my peppermint on my thyroid and my feet at night. I ordered the Endoflex, so hopefully you’ll hear from me in a couple weeks, with some great results from these oils. So happy to have someone understand what you are going through.

        Melissa C.

      • Yes, keep me posted! 🙂

  15. It’s too bad I can’t order EndoFlex – or Thyromin – in Canada. 😦 I had someone sending me some from the US a couple months ago but the shipping was so damn expensive… You guys are lucky!

  16. Anna London says:

    Kehau, clearly you and I are cut from the same cloth! I see on your page you attended IIN; I myself am a current student, and I also suffer from Hashimoto’s Thyroiditis and turned to YL essential oils about two weeks ago because I refuse to be on medication the rest of my life. I just got my EndoFlex in yesterday, and my Lemongrass is still on its way; however, I do have Frankincense and Peppermint here to compliment the EndoFlex in the meantime. I am going to begin trying this in the morning. Would you recommend applying just on feet and thyroid, or also in other areas?

    On a side note, I am currently in the process of modifying my behavior in the way of eating and physical fitness. I have taken up Qi Gong and a whole-foods approach to eating, and I am learning so much about myself and my bad habits as I am beginning on this road to wellness. Any advice you could give me would be incredibly appreciated! Thank you so much!

    • Awesome Anna! Haha, we are so similar! 🙂

      I like to cover all my bases and apply oils to my thyroid, the thyroid point on my feet & my adrenals. I also do a few drops sublingually nowadays.
      Lemongrass is too hot to do sublingually but the others are fine (frank, pepp, endoflex).
      Play with it and see how you feel and what you like 🙂 Frequency is usually the key moreso than quantity.

      Sounds like you are on an awesome path! Advice? Be flexible with yourself. I tend to strive for perfection & sometimes the guilt of eating “bad” things would take over. Love yourself up, do the best with the options that you have & most of all, ENJOY IT. If its not fun or it starts creating stress, its time to reevaluate how you can change that.

      Take care!

  17. 'googleStatus': 'Clean', says:

    Hello, i thinbk that i saw you visited my site so i came too “return tthe favor”.I aam attempting to
    find things to enhance my site!I suppose itss ok tto uuse a few of your ideas!!

  18. Jan gardo says:

    I don’t have thyroid & feel terrible. Would this help me?

    • Hi Jan,

      It might! I cant make any guarantees because everyone is so different. However, I used to be at the point where I was willing to try anything. You might wanna give it a shot 🙂 You also will want to look into dietary and lifestyle changes tho – those are crucial! You may also want to dig into some research around Hashimotos/autoimmune conditions and how to address those by healing the gut. Many doctors are saying upwards of 90% of hypothyroidism stems from Hashis, so even if the thyroid has been removed the patient does not feel better bc the immune system is not healthy. Its definitely not addressed by many doctors.
      Hope you are feeling better!

  19. Misty says:

    Hi, thank you for this article. I am taking naturethroid, and also do not feel well on it. I have tried t3 only, and then the synthetic versions of t3 and t4. I just started endoflex about 1 week ago. I wanted to quit my thyroid cold turkey like you, but I am afraid my metabolism will plummet. Do youthink there is a way to get off of it gradually while using endoflex? Do you know how long it would take? My tsh is about a .5 to a 1. I dont think I could achieve this on my own quite yet. I decreased to only a grain and my tsh went high..thank you..

    • Hi Misty,
      I would def partner up with a doctor who is willing to retest your levels frequently and is open to helping you wean off of them. There really isnt a cookie cutter way to stop them since everyone has so many different variables happening with thyroid imbalances. Some people can do it fairly quickly, others may never be able to. However, the great thing is that you can use the Endoflex even while on the meds to help support you 🙂

  20. Linda says:

    Kehau – I sent you an email.

  21. Bree says:

    Did you have have pain in the thyroid as a symptom and if you did, did this help? I too feel like I’ve crossed over from glandulars helping to hurting and was about to start bio identical cream from a naturopath. What thyroid antibodies are you testing? I just started iodine but I think it makes it worse as well. Thanks!

  22. Isabella says:

    Hi. did you notice any weight changes after you stopped your initial thyroid meds? I am curious if you gained or lost? how much did your tsh go up?
    I am currently thinking of doing the same thing you did. I have been on endoflex for about 4 weeks. i just want to stop my thyroid meds.

    • Hi,

      I lost weight. I think there were a few reasons for this: I went GF at the same time, so the “puffy” gluten factor went away, I had more energy so I was actually able to workout again and I had gained weight when I was on the meds so my body liked getting off of them.
      Is it possible for you to work with your doctor to taper off of the meds? That would be the safest way to do it; slowly weaning off of them is much better than quitting cold turkey like I did 🙂

  23. melody says:

    I did quit my thyroid medicine after tapering them off slowly. I just couldn’t take the swelling it caused me it was severe. I just started using Peppermint, Clove and Lemongrass all diluted. I felt really good a while after. I have high hopes I am going to a specialist that is holistic alternative and I am thinking she may have more suggestions. I have been on meds for 9 years on and off and I am just really sick of feeling sick. I am so glad to see the positive things said though about essential oils. I have my fingers crossed. Be well.

    • I hope you are doing well and this new doctor helps you! Good luck and I hope you feel GREAT very soon!

      • Misty says:

        Hi, congratulations. Ihope the oils help you. have you thought about endoflex? Did your swelling go down after you quit the meds? Were you on T4 only?

      • I use and love endoflex!

        My “puffiness” went down but I never had thyroid swelling so I cant speak to that.

        I tried a few different meds some that were only T4 and some that were NDT. I didn’t do well on any of them unfortunately.

  24. Beverly Stanley says:

    Do you just wet a washcloth and tap the oil on it or do you have to put it in a bowl and mix thoroughly first? Do you cover the compress with anything to help keep it warm? How long do you leave it on? Can you rewarm & reuse the morning compress in the evening? (don’t essential oil’s stay active for a while even when diluted?)
    Help… I want to do this right and do it soon! (But don’t want to spend an excessive amount!)
    Beverly Stanley

    • Hi, I just apply the oils directly to my skin. I wouldn’t want to waste any by having it soak into the washcloth and not end up in my system – but that’s just me 🙂
      I don’t even mix them…just put a little on my finger and rub it on the areas I want it applied to. Sometimes I have empty bottles that I create my own mixtures of oils with…but for my thyroid I just apply them directly without diluting. I just apply and theyre soaked in within minutes. If you wanted to apply a compress you can apply the oils (diluted or neat) and then apply a warm, wet washcloth but just be aware that water drives in the oils. It may start to feel “hot” in which case just apply olive or coconut oil to the area to dilute it more. The hot feeling will go away almost immediately. Hope that helps!

  25. I feel like this blog post saved my life last year, thank you so much for sharing your experience, and information!

  26. Janie N. says:

    Other than the peppermint potentially decreasing milk supply, are the list of oils you mentioned to treat hypothyroidism safe while nursing? I am experiencing low thyroid and would like to try this route before medication. Thank you for your help! I found this blog very interesting!

    • Hi there,
      It would probably be best to get an Essential Oils Desk Reference Guide. Theyre available through Life Science Publishers (no, Im not affiliated). There are different sizes but they do cover pregnancy, breast feeding and safety of many, many oils throughout this process. Another good option is Gentle Babies by Debra Rayburn. That book is much smaller but is specifically geared towards moms and doesn’t cover other topics that are not related to birth/pregnancy/after birth, etc. I know I will be using oils when I have kids, but its probably best to give you a resource that will encompass all of this on a much broader level that I can on a blog post 🙂

  27. Heather Thornton says:

    Hi I just went off my meds and my cousin is giving me the endoflex. Im so scared this will not work for me. Ive been feeling so bad since 2008 and I just cant wait to try this. Im getting it on Easter so im sooooo excited and impatient. Im really hoping I dont get too overly stressed and then it dont work. I will repost with progress.

    • Keep us posted! Try to relax and give it some time 🙂 Remember to track your symptoms – write everything down, even the things you think don’t actually relate!
      Wishing you the best!

  28. Hello, I’m found your article on Thyroid Nation and know Dana Bowman through thyroid advocacy.

    I have a blog and following in this community, misslizzy.me

    Part of my work is to share information and help patients find answers. I’ve been interested in essential oils and was very interested in your article.

    I would love to talk more!

    Liza

  29. what about Hyperthyroid? I have recently been diagnosed with Graves’. I am on 50mg of PTU. i’d love to know how to work with oils to help my situation…. i’d also like to be pregnant soon… we’re not trying until we have the next set of blood tests done seeing how the levels are. so may….

    • Yes, a lot of people use oils for hyper as well! Obviously, I haven’t personally done that but you’re not alone with that! Check out the Essential Oils Desk Reference (there is a pocket guide as well which is cheaper) that you can use to help you choose the correct oils. Its sold at http://www.LifeSciencePublishers.com
      I highly recommend it for anyone whos using oils!
      Good luck with your future pregnancy! 🙂

    • Kris says:

      Please do your research before tring to get pregnant. I also have Grave’s, and from the information I’ve read, being pregnant with this disease may be risky and dangerous for the unborn child as well as the mother.

  30. Christina says:

    Have you replaced any single oils with energee? I see it had the lemongrass, nutmeg and clove all of those support the adrenals. Just curious, I’m placing an order and thought I might try it.

  31. down2earthoils says:

    Hi.

    I’m so glad I found this. Do you just do the oils, or do you also take thyromin? I got a bottle of that and it’s not working for me. So, I am thinking of changing to the oils only.

    Thank you for your post.

    Christy

    • I don’t take thyromin but I know a lot of other people do. At first I didn’t want to use it because of the iodine and my high antibodies. Ive never found a need for it at this point. See how you do without it 🙂

  32. Neela says:

    Hi – I’m wondering about my 7 year old – she was diagnosed with hypo – put on a really low dose of levothyroxine – 0.05% – but she still has crashes in late afternoon, it affects her personality, (meltdowns, whining), she’s gained weight, she’ll even literally lay down and want to go to sleep within minutes of eating dinner. I tried the lemongrass diluted roller on her thyroid foot vita flex.. the problem is our consistency.. so we don’t know if that’s helping. I wonder if I can try the Endo-Flex and how – probably not ingesting.. same ? on the foot? I really don’t want her on meds and overweight the rest of her life. Do you know the answer to this or know somewhere I can ask? The actual company somewhere?
    TIA!!

    • Aww sorry to hear about your girl. Yes, you can use endoflex topically. I use it on the throat & also under the big toe. You can also use it on the adrenals.
      I would def get Dr Izabella Wentz book at http://www.thyroidpharmacist.com to get a good grasp on things you can do for her. It’s a comprehensive book.
      Hope she feels better soon!

  33. Katie says:

    I have Hoshimoto desease what do you recommend I use

  34. Maria says:

    Is it okay to mix all four oils in one container with coconut oil to apply all at once?

  35. elle414 says:

    How to properly identify adrenals and thyroid points on feet? Can you provide a link if not a pics? I thinks 1-2 inches wrong direction and person will think the oils do not work…but it won’t be a case. Tnx!!!

  36. Cori says:

    Did u apply the oils ad a mixed blend or individually. Did u apply them directly or with carrier oil?

  37. Stephanie says:

    I am breastfeeding and have hashimotos. Sometimes my TSH bottoms out and I become hyperthyroid, but that’s only happened twice. Right now my TSH is 58 and free T4 is 0.50. My endo thinks my TSH is still pretty high cuz I’m postpartum (4 months) and wants to give it more time before he puts me on meds. Is there anything I can use that won’t drop my supply and help keep my thyroid healthy… My antibodies are sky high… Mine are so high that it stops reading and just says >(the number). I was extremely blessed that I was able to get pregnant after only trying for 2 months

  38. Connie says:

    Hi I am using endoflex for my adrenals for adrenal fatigue but will it hurt if I use it on my thyroid as we’ll,,,,but will it cause any thyroid problems my metabolism is very slow and needs help thxs

  39. melissa says:

    I just got back my bloodwork for my thyroids…I have hypothyroid….Anything I can start to use before the medication. .I am in too many right now and not looking forward to adding more.

  40. Nfs says:

    Hi, may i get your advice?

    I am keen to try endoflex for weight loss..

    However, im currently consuming Zen shape slimming supplements.

    May i take the two products together?

  41. daniipete says:

    hello! i was wondering what the desk reference says for graves disease? i don’t have time to order the book as i leave on vacation, but i want to stop off to pick up some pure essential oils before i leave to help support my graves disease…. thank you!

  42. aculver says:

    Love this article! I’ve been on Levo since I was diagnosed with Hypo about 20+ yrs ago. I flip flopped back and forth between hypo and hyper for a while. Been starting to look into more natural approach to things lately. I was diagnosed with high blood pressure about a year ago, but have been able to keep it at bay with herbs. I want to get off my levo. I just found out our insurance changed and no longer pays anything toward my script. It sucks!!! I will definitely be trying this. Thanks!

Leave a comment